OneNote 2010: Docking a Window on Startup

I’m a huge OneNote user since it first came with Office 2003 and the way I use it has evolved over the years. I’ll come back with a post here that talks more about how I use OneNote to be more productive, but today I’ll share a quick tip for those of you using Office 2010.

I like to have a OneNote window docked to my screen to capture quick notes and track what I’m doing that day. Here’s a screenshot of what this looks like using my Daily Journal template:

I used to have to launch OneNote, navigate to my Journal notebook and click the Dock button to put the OneNote in position. But now I automate this by putting a shortcut in my Startup folder in my Start menu with this command line:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14\ONENOTE.EXE" "<path to my journal .ONE file>" /docked

 

If you have Office 64-bit installed or have it installed somewhere else, you’ll have to use the appropriate path to your Office 2010 install path.

